Friday, August 12, 2011
Why is my dog so bad?
LOL, I was going to say watch Marley and me and see if you could get some pointers. He is a lab, and he is good at being a lab, and better at being 9-months-old. I do not use the command "no" it is confusing to the puppy. The word "no" comes up in conversation all the time, and the puppy thinks he is doing something wrong when he isn't. If my puppy is not responding to training, I reevaluate myself. If my commands are not working, I change them. Each of my dogs has different words, sounds, and hand signals, so if one is in trouble, everyone knows who it is. Most of my dogs get their words in one day, Eleanor took two days to figure out what words she responds to. With her, I have to point, snap my fingers, and then use my command. I guess I have to do extra to get her attention. Now, with her I just snap my fingers, but at first, it took a lot to get her attention. When she does good, I praise her. Most of my dogs respond to "shame" and "ssht", but also "off" "settle down" "behave" whatever gets their attention. For one of my dogs, I used actual words from sign language, and for his daughter, I just used thumbs up for when I wanted her to continue her behavior, and I shook my finger at her in a scold when she did something wrong. I try to watch each dog to see what they are responding to, and adjust myself to what that particular dog is responding to. I address behavior problems the second they start, so there is no confusion that it is a behavior I do not allow. I imagine that my energy, and facial expression send the message I am unhappy before I get a command out. I don't yell, or use a really stern voice, but there is a difference between the voice I use when they are in trouble, and when I make a fuss because they are good. So if he were scratching at something, I would address it right away, maybe point, snap my fingers, and say "shame", and then I would make him sit and settle down, and then say "good boy" I wouldn't throw a ball right away because I might be confusing him. You know dogs want to please us, so we have to show them what behaviors we allow, and which ones we do not allow, and always remember to praise them when they do good, so they know to keep doing good. You have to watch when you are training though because they are really smart. So I might think I trained sit, shake, and then I gave a treat, but I didn't realize that the puppy barked because he thought he was getting a treat. So I thought I taught sit, shake, treat, the puppy thought I taught sit, shake, bark, treat. So sometimes you have to think like a puppy. My newest puppy responds to clapping, you might try that. He shouldn't be on the bed unless you invite him, so pick him off the bed, say "shame" and then make him sit, and say "good boy" For "no biting" I point, snap my fingers, and say "no biting" and when she sits and behaves, I say "good girl" I don't think you are doing anything wrong, but I would change my commands if they are not working, and remember he is a lab, and he is good at it.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment